HAUSBOI – Speak Up

By Emmanuel Narokobi

What you see below is an artist who is trying to create and market music totally outside of the CHM Supersound machine. We need more of this to diversify our music and to grow the industry. Great work John Faunt, keep it up and I will definitely help wherever I can to support his album sales.

Vudu Flyer 1_A5x2_Colour

Update:

After emailing John Faunt this blog post he replied with the comments below, looks like fodder for another post on these exciting developments at Vudu Productions and Spaida Trakz. This is what John had to say:

My friends,

The Hausboi new album titled ‘Speak Up’ is a message for positive change for this country. The positive change that will come out of the impact of this album in PNG will have a direct impact on the lives of simple Papua New Guineans, and Expatriates like yourselves. Whether you would like to support or not is your choice, but pls read the paper, the viewpoints and listen to the radio over the coming weeks and months you will see how much this means to all Papua New Guineans.

I am an advocate for change. I represent all Papua New Guineans. By all means do your jobs, but remember that change will not happen from negative attitudes from Expatriates.

And yes I have plenty of time, plenty of time to make a change for PNG.

Speak Up PNG. Its time for Change.

6 thoughts on “HAUSBOI – Speak Up

  1. Spendid! that’s the way our artists should go in producing and promoting their music and getting the full benefits of their labour!

  2. HausBoi is the Greatest Admirer in terms of PNG Music Industry. I admire his music and how he had accomplised quality production with limited and sometimes suppressed industry.

    If only he knows how much I play his music at home in Melbourne when I feel lonely. Its refreshing to see his videos on YuTobe and also on many social networking sites.

    I still believe that HausBoi is the greatest PNG musician of his era. Not being biased here……

    Rex

  3. Emmanuel thanks alot for the post.

    The comments made above were from an email I sent to a couple of expats here in Lae who reacted quite negatively towards the forwarding of the flyer posted above. However pls note that I meant every word I wrote. The timing for today’s experience (I will elaborate on this separately) were spot on as you all know my band Hausboi is about to launch our new album titled ‘Speak Up’, and today gives me all the more reason to be an advocate for positive change for PNG. This includes attitude change by PNGeans and Expats. 2009 is the year for change.

    The lyrics of the chorus for the song ‘Speak Up’ are as follows:
    ‘Send the message out to my countryman, speak up for your rights and stand for your land.’

    Oh Solo and Rex thanks for your support.

    John,
    Hausboi, Lae

  4. Looking forward to listening to another great new album from HausBoi! I like the “Time for Change” –
    Goes so well with Obama’s speech – Yes we can !! Yes we can change!!!
    John – I sent you an email and forgot to enquire bout ordering – I’ll send an email now.

    Speak UP and be heard….. It was at one of the plenary sessions for the Leadership PNG Programme, one of the speakers was saying that it is when you go quiet or silent on issues, nothing is done about it – ignorance -…something along those lines…

    The lyrics of the chorus for the song ‘Speak Up’ are as follows:
    ‘Send the message out to my countryman, speak up for your rights and stand for your land.’

    Your lyrics speaks volumes!!!

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

