DWU MBA Program

By Emmanuel Narokobi

Several years ago after getting my law degree, my Dad hassled me allot about doing a Masters overseas somewhere. I put it off obviously because I thought my time would be better spent working at my small business. Over the years though the thought has kept popping up now and again and I decided that if I do finally get to do a Masters I’d like to do an MBA from London Business School (LBS). It seemed quite attractive to me in terms of their programs etc, but yes the cost. I’d have to get a scholarship or something because it will cost me just over K300,000 to do it.

https://i0.wp.com/www.dwu.ac.pg/images/titext2.gif

Anyway, so back here in Port Moresby, I attended a breakfast organised by the Port Moresby Chamber of Commerce and Industry this morning. It was primarily for the CEO of Telikom to give us a talk on how Telikom was going, but before Peter Loko came on we heard from Divine Word University (DWU) about their MBA program which is being run in collaboration with the Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM).https://i0.wp.com/www.mgsm.edu.au/wps/wcm/connect/d6ad958043194280bad1ba78a3595163/logo.jpg

Now I must say, I’m certainly impressed. I like the fact that each unit taught will have both a lecturer from MGSM and DWU, and we are told it will be run this way so as to maintain international standards and experience while giving the program a local context. No offense to other local MBA programs in PNG, but having international (Australia/Canada/Europe) lecturers teaching in PNG would definitely give me more confidence in my investment.

And another bonus, all classes will be run over the weekends, so you can still work as well. I’m not saying I’ll be signing up tomorrow, but I am seriously considering it.

Read More here and get the Fee’s here.

5 thoughts on “DWU MBA Program

  1. Go for it bro! If you can work and go for classes on wkends, that’s a great deal. Now I am thinking of getting another degree! lol

  2. Manu.

    Maybe I shud entice you with checking this site. http://www.uopeople.org
    They are offering a Bachelor in Business Administration and a Computer Science Degree completely for FREE!!

    Oopppssss… you wanted to do something higher!! Worth a look though!

    ABOUT US

    University of the People (UoPeople) is the world’s first tuition-free, online academic institution dedicated to the global advancement and democratization of higher education. The high-quality, low-cost and global pedagogical model embraces the worldwide presence of the Internet and dropping technology costs to bring collegiate level studies to even the poorest and most remote places on earth. With the support of respected academics, humanitarians and other visionaries, the UoPeople student body represents a new wave in global education.

    FEES

    We have decided to waive all fees for our applicants at this stage and reserve the right to change our policy for the Spring 2010 semester. The University of the People is a tuition-free, non-profit institution. The University does not charge students to take classes. Readings and other study materials will be available online free of charge.

    Bests,
    Rex

  3. Yeah I did want to do an MBA, LBS is ideal for me because they have a number of electives which would suit exactly what I’m after with entrepreneurial studies, not to mention a rugby team, a media club and being in London for industry related interships.

    But in anycase that UoPeople looks interesting. Do you know anyone in PNG who’s completed studies there?

  4. I read in their website that they are still not an accredited institution and do not confer degrees…what does that mean Rex?

Leave a Reply

