‘Every government degenerates when trusted to the rulers of the people alone…’

Yesterday I went with some friends (who I’m staying with here in Virginia, US), to Monticello to see Thomas Jefferson’s home. Most will know about him of course, but I was struck by the fact that he wrote the US Declaration of Independence when he was 33. He was a lawyer, surveyor, architect and farmer besides being a politician. He even architecturally designed and founded the University of Virginia.

Makes me feel like I’ve wasted my 20’s and 30’s.

Anyway I was also pleasantly surprised to find that yesterday was also his birthday.  So a great day to reflect on how much vision and foresight the leaders of those times had. Makes you wonder what the hell our leaders in PNG are inspired by?

I thought this quote of his kind’ve fits into our general situation in PNG at the moment. He wrote this in 1820:

“I know no safe depository of the ultimate powers of the society, but the people themselves: and if we think them not enlightened enough to exercise their control with a wholesome discretion, the remedy is, not to take it from them, but to inform their discretion by education. This is the true corrective of abuses of constitutional power.”

3 thoughts on “‘Every government degenerates when trusted to the rulers of the people alone…’

  1. A fav quote:

    “Upon the altar of God I pledge eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man ”
    ― Thomas Jefferson

Leave a Reply

