Wherever Particular People Congregate

By Emmanuel Narokobi

pall_mall_011I read a comment once, can’t remember where, but it went like this, ‘a cigarette is a pipe with a fire on one end and a fool on the other’. So it appears that all the fools in the world are slowly being pushed to exercise their lungs at the back of offices, outside near rubbish bins and other dark lonely places. However PNG must be a smokers Paradise at the moment.

The usefulness of Tobacco companies in society have been argued and litigated over for years so I’m not going into that today. I’m not a smoker so I really don’t notice cigarettes or have anything really to do with them, but just the other day when I was chatting with a special friend of mine, we both came across Pall Mall’s catch phrase on the packet.

I ripped apart the packet and scanned it. It’s not so clear on the whole packet scan above, but I zoomed in on the bottom tab so you could read it. It reads ‘Wherever Particular People Congregate‘.

pall_mall_021

HAHAHA, I mean WTF???? I seriously had a good laugh. Sounds like an advert for a leper colony or people with ebola, or worse vampires.

All those millions of Tobacco Kina’s in PNG and all they can say about their product is ‘Wherever Particular People Congregate‘??

Maybe the catch phrase was just done at the cost of a loose cigarette since obviously they have more important areas of the business to focus on like the logistics of getting it into the hands of as many people and ages in PNG as possible.

Do you belong to a partcular type of people?

2 thoughts on “Wherever Particular People Congregate

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally
    educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my hunt for
    something relating to this.

  2. Thankfulness to my father who informed me on the topic of this website, this weblog is
    truly amazing.
    Lokale und globale Online-Kleinanzeigen Gratis Werbung
    Lokalne i globalne Online Ogłoszenia Bezpłatne ogłoszenia
    La nivel local și la nivel mondial Online Mica publicitate gratuit
    Publicitate
    Локальна і глобальна онлайн Оголошення Безкоштовна реклама
    المحلية والعالمية على الانترنت الاعلانات المبوبة إعلانات مجانية
    Local y global en línea clasificados Publicitarios
    Lokal dan global online Iklan Baris Gratis Iklan
    局部和全局的在线分类广告免费刊登广告

Leave a comment